Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

The Naked Dream

Yeah! My girls are back in school! We did our supply shopping and picked up their new uniforms on the last possible day- the ones we ordered on the last possible day back in June. I got them back on the school day schedule early, so my nights are kid-free and the mornings are yell-free-ish.

IMG_4681

But, I still feel out of sorts. Just before the alarm goes off I wake up in a sweat. It’s that damn naked dream!

I have been out of teaching for 7 long years and still a Back-to-School sign fills me with dread. The dreams have worn off over the years, less frequent and less intense, but there back! I started taking on-line PD courses to renew my certification. It couldn’t hurt to keep it current, right?

Well, the first course was a total joy and I learned so much about online Author Studies at PBS Teacherline. The second was a beating because the teacher was really involved and caring and demanded that we work with real life examples, anecdotes and lesson plans. The course title was something like Core vs. 21st Century Skills. It’s enough to give you chills isn’t it? You understand the feelings of inadequacy that would bring on the dreams, don’t you?

 

images (1)I show up at school for teacher prep days only to find out it is the first day of school. I scramble to the office through the crowds for my schedule. The strange secretary doesn’t know me from Eve and eyes me suspiciously. Turns into a smirk, she has decided I deserve this crazy schedule. I have all new classes- things I not only never taught before but never heard of! I decide to make the best of it, no need to panic! Without hand outs of rules, procedures and syllabus I will spend time really getting to know the students. Building relationships should be the priority, I say to myself, I am a great teacher. If all else fails we will play some name games until the bell rings.  I make my way through crowded but eerily quiet halls that are the wrong color to my room and find that it is not the same as last year! Damn again, I spent all that time organizing and decorating because I was assured by the principal that I would keep the same room! What? Why the hell do I have lab tables and eye-wash stations in my room? I teach Language Arts!  This has got to be a mistake. I turn to leave and the bell rings. I am not outside by the door to welcome the students that are pouring in. Hi, hello! These students are all wrong! They are too old for 8th grade! They come in like they own the place and sit where ever they want! I have lost control already! Suddenly, I see that I am stark naked! The students look and laugh! Heart pounding, palms sweating, boobs sagging, I try to get behind one of the lab tables but I’m moving in slow motion!

Then I wake up!

What does this mean?funwithteacherdreams

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2014 by in You did WHAT?, You're SUCH a Good Mom and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

