Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

Kevil’s Konfession

I’m an atheist.

Calm down people – I don’t worship the devil.

I just don’t believe in the concept of a supreme being.  I don’t believe in divine intervention.  I don’t believe that bad things happen to good people, that if I pray things will go my way, and I don’t have to read a book or listen to a sermon to determine right from wrong.

What happened to freedom of religion?  I can believe in whatever I want – I just choose to believe in myself.

But try to explain that to the hauty-totty, bible belt, professional stay-at-home moms in my town.  Don’t look down on me when you have a nanny raising your kids, you cheat on your husband, and you’re in debt up to your eyeballs but you go on vacation every year and bitch when you don’t get jewelry for every holiday.

How about you believe in doing your best every day.  Making things better than you found them.  Spend quality time with your family, and live within your means.  How about you don’t judge others for their beliefs – isn’t there something in the bible about that?

I think religion is great.  I think it’s sad, but necessary, that people have to have a book to follow, to have some pre-established belief to learn about.  I think things would be a little crazy if people didn’t think there were “after-life repercussions”, but that doesn’t mean I need it.

Now try explaining freedom of religion to your kids.  Beat into them right from wrong, and encourage them to make a difference.  I mean, really explain it – in it’s truest, purest sense.  This is why people don’t talk about religion or politics.  Because there is no winner.  There isn’t one that’s more right or more wrong, but there is one that’s more accepted – and there’s power in numbers.  So I encourage my children to believe in themselves and if they are going to “pick” a religion they should be informed about all of them so they’re picking what’s best – for them.

If we do that for appliances, shouldn’t we at least do the same for our beliefs?

 

 

My friend, Tempest, first let me post this on her Confessional Series at Nonsense & Shenanigans.  Thank you for giving me an outlet.

14 comments on “Kevil’s Konfession

  1. makelifemontessori
    July 31, 2014

    High five! Thanks for amazing post! Finaly someone said it aloud. I was thinking about religion and about what I miss in my religion-less life, and the only thing that came to my mind was that I feel a lack of strong and supportive group of people who have similar/the same life rules and basis, so that it is easier to communicate with them (I understand it like that).
    I agree with you, and I’d like to add only one thing for this moment (it’s late and I can’t think clear and straight) I don’t understand why and how (some) believers can judge and doubt if atheist are able to teach their children how to live a good life, to be honest, to be happy, strong and responsible person. It seems to mean that atheist are able to rise only criminals, murderers and thieves. I heard it few times, and I am not sure if it was according to bible principles. I heard it in question form: “.. so how are you going to teach your child what is good and what is bad?” and so forth. Well, my parents didn’t have to frighten me with hell’s fire nor promise me any abstract prizes.
    I think I can’t say “I like religion”. I just don’t understand it. I don’t need it, too. Now.
    Cheers!

    • Kevil
      July 31, 2014

      I’ve kept my mouth shut about my beliefs for so long. Why? That was the only question I couldn’t answer. Thanks for the vote of confidence!

  2. Holly
    July 31, 2014

    I’m the same. No need for the belief in something more. Great post

    • Kevil
      July 31, 2014

      Thanks! Should we talk about politics next? 😉

      • Holly
        August 1, 2014

        Avoidance is my politics style lol

  3. amforte66
    July 31, 2014

    Great post! Religion isn’t for me either. I’m A-OK with believing in a god…or not, but forget this crazy religion stuff. And has anyone else noticed that women end up with the short end of the stick in pretty much every religion? What’s up with that??

    • Kevil
      July 31, 2014

      I know, right?! I really appreciate Buddhism; the wheel of life and nature and animals. I just don’t have the discipline and I’m really bad at self reflection…

  4. nonsmokingladybug
    August 1, 2014

    amen ooops sorry 🙂

  5. mzpresser
    August 1, 2014

    Looking forward to following your blog, God bless!

  6. pavanneh
    August 3, 2014

    Great post!! I believe in God and have faith. I know there is a life after this one because of personal experiences. However, I would never force my beliefs upon anyone else and strongly believe any journey of “Faith” must be individual. The face of God is different for each person who views it and I have always believed in allowing my children to find their own way. You can still teach the fundamental basics of being a good person and human being without dogma being shoved down their throats.

    • Kevil
      August 4, 2014

      Now this is what I’m talking about! I love that we can still respect and appreciate each other while having different beliefs! Hypocrisy shmyrocrisy! Thanks! ❤

  7. tastehitch
    November 22, 2014

    It’s funny how we have to ‘confess’ to being an atheist or skeptic. This is a good take on how I feel about religion and the supernatural. It’s a bid rude but brilliant!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 31, 2014 by in You did WHAT? and tagged , , .
TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

