Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

Who’s Keeping Score? Because I think I’m losing.

My kids are constantly glued to their electronics (I know, don’t say it…it’s my own fault for buying them).  I have to do sign language before I start talking to them just to make sure they can hear me – and that totally throws off my timing.

kids-and-electronics

So I felt is was my duty to let my youngest daughter in on “The Good ‘Ole Days”.

Me:  When I was a kid I talked to my friends on the phone – ALL THE TIME.  It drove your grandmother crazy(er) 😉 .  Especially when I stretched her new extra, extra, long cord (yes the receivers were attached by cords just like when the dinosaurs roamed the Earth) across the kitchen and into the hall by the front door just so I could sit comfortably on carpet, with a little peace, quiet, and privacy, prolonging my conversations.  After multiple trippings and several classic clotheslinings (is that a word?)  she had had it!  She voluntarily gave up her coveted cord and managed to find the shortest cord in existence (which was quite a feat in the days before google and amazon).  Even stretched to its max, I could not sit without craning my neck in my best giraffe impersonation.  Nope!  Standing was her retribution!  “Talk away” she encouraged, as long as you’re standing…in the kitchen…with no privacy…  Soon my conversations consisted of phrases:  what are you doing? when? and where?

Julia:  Let me guess, she also made you walk to school, up hill, both ways, in the snow, with no shoes.

Me:  No smart aleck, I rode the bus, I had shoes, and I grew up in Houston – no snow!  Would you like to know the point of my story?

Julia:  No thanks, I’m going to facetime my friend.

The rats are winning.

parenting game

12 comments on “Who’s Keeping Score? Because I think I’m losing.

  1. amforte66
    May 19, 2014

    Too funny! I remember those corded phones. You should tell her about how people could listen in on the other line if they were super quiet…or press down on the receiver thingy and disconnect your call. Good times! 🙂

    • Kevil
      May 19, 2014

      and time & temp, and 3-way to cold bust a best friend or boyfriend, and prank calls…no wait – I never did that 😉

      • amforte66
        May 19, 2014

        Life before caller ID was a lot of fun…. But it was like Russian roulette answering the phone.

      • amforte66
        May 19, 2014

        I forgot about time and temp…what fun!!! Oooohhh…and calling for the movie times.

  2. NS
    May 19, 2014

    I can imagine a similar conversation with my children in the years to come. Is there any way to stop this craziness???? *sigh*

    • Kevil
      May 19, 2014

      It still gets me when they say they’re bored…you have an ipad and cable TV with 3,000 channels! GIVE ME A BREAK! You can clean the house and then see how bored you are 😛

  3. Pingback: The voices in my head. | Pretend to be Nice

  4. Karuna
    July 29, 2014

    I love your post. It reminds me of being at a church service a couple of years ago when the minister talked to the kids about playing outside on the green stuff (I.e. grass) when he was a kid. Something they knew nothing about now!

    • Kevil
      July 29, 2014

      Play on the green stuff – hahaha! I’m going to have to remember that one! It reminds me of the response from my youngest daughter when I told her she should take her guinea pigs outside. Julia: Why should I do that. Me: because everyone enjoys fresh air and exercise. Julia: No one does – you get hot and sweaty. Me: It’ll be ok, guinea pigs don’t sweat 😉

      • Karuna
        July 29, 2014

        Yep that’s the idea! He did a 20 minute sermon on the topic. It was funny but also sad to think that children don’t play outside as a matter of course. The importance of going outside and getting sweaty was one of his points.

  5. Properly Ridiculous
    August 3, 2014

    Times certainly have changed… but whose to say it’s all bad?
    Personally…I think technology is the best/worst thing that has ever happened. The cons can be SO huge…but the pros are just as big.
    Finding things before Google & Amazon – I forgot what that was like. Ha…I don’t know how I managed to EVER get anywhere either…Even printing out Mapquest directions seemed like a treat at one time.

    I think you’re doing juuuust fine at the parenting game. 😉

    • Kevil
      August 3, 2014

      Thanks, and I’m with you – I wouldn’t give up my gps or amazon…so who am I to say. Can’t wait to see what my kids think is ridiculous when they have kids. Evolution baby!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2014 by in You're SUCH a Good Mom and tagged , , , , , , .
TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

