Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

Dear K-Evil: We have a hoarder.

Dear K-Evil,

I’m a good mom. I provide for my children: feed them, clothe them, stimulate their brains.  So I don’t know why I find a pantry of missing items in my daughter’s bed.  I could understand a pack of gum or a cool marker, but kitchen shears, a new bottle of pancake syrup, two bottles of snow-cone syrup, a jar of Nutella, and five bags of marshmallows.  If someone visited they would think I was holding her hostage…in a dungeon…at Willy Wonka’s.

What do I do?

Sincerely,

Parent of a pack rat

 

 

Dear Rodent Raiser,

You should buy a mini-trampoline or treadmill and make her run 2 miles for each item to burn off all those extra calories.

Just kidding – that’s what I would do.  What should you do?  I don’t know, but I’m sure I could come up with something ridiculous…

 

poltergeist

1)  When your daughter is at school, pile all of the contraband in the middle of her room (but don’t say anything just pretend it was a poltergeist).  Do this every day for a week and see if she gets the point.  If not, continue to make the piles but “charge” her time for each item (ie: go to bed early 5 minutes for each item, jump on the mini-tramp, run miles on the treadmill).

 

2)  When you come back from the store put family member’s names on everything.  Or better yet, buy these and repackage everything.

 

3)  Go buy extras of those items she hoards most.  It’s only food (and it’s only money – my kids think there’s a tree with bills growing on it, don’t yours?)

 

Which means you’ll probably need to buy a treadmill so she can run off all those extra calories.

 

Good Luck and see you at the next 5K!

image-10-0-treadmill

K-Evil

 

 

 

Here are more Dear K-Evil letters, in case you missed one.

How to say no without saying no.

Have you had a pick pocket?

Did your kids find your secret drawer?

 

 

14 comments on “Dear K-Evil: We have a hoarder.

  1. andy1076
    July 26, 2014

    Great reference to Poltergeist lol that’ll hint nicely 😀

    • Kevil
      July 26, 2014

      🙂 Thanks. You would think my middle daughter would catch on I’ve piled stuff so often in her room. One day I said, “Let’s play Jenga!” She got to keep the things that didn’t topple the pile. The rest are in a box (to hopefully be forgotten and donated). The rule is – after a month if she can remember an item in detail she earn it back if her room is clean that day. I still have a box of crap and it’s been months 😉

      • andy1076
        July 26, 2014

        Lol!! Dr Phil would approve XD

  2. I’m not sure if this is a serious concern, or not. I have a family member who had that problem as a child and it represented something beyond a simple behavior with could be dealt with sans a professional. I’m probably completely wrong!

    • Kevil
      July 26, 2014

      It was a real situation that came up in conversation. It started with us being frustrated with our kids not cleaning up and ventured into a one-upping: “You won’t believe what I found in her closet”…”Well I found [ ] in my daughter’s bed”. This mother and I have tried all kinds of things, which is why it found its way on the blog.

      So what happened with your friend’s child? And suggested strategies?

  3. My mom had to seek help from a professional. It was an indicator of OCD. But, I am NOT a doctor and this probably is no indicator of that condition. Might mention it to the pediatrician at the next visit. It’s probably just a stage. 🙂

    • Kevil
      July 26, 2014

      You never know, it’s good to keep eyes open.

  4. amforte66
    July 27, 2014

    This makes me laugh!! I used to limit the amount of sweets my kids could have so that’s what I would find stored away upstairs…cans of icing, peanut butter, Christmas candy, Oreos, etc. Too funny! 🙂

    • Kevil
      July 28, 2014

      Candy, I can see – but cans of icing and jars of peanut butter *smh* kids… After the initial shock of finding open bags and containers of items needed for a recipe I started making a big production out of cooking something yummy. “Hey girls! Who wants to make rice crispy treats?! OH POO! We can’t because someone ate the marshmallows!” I’m sure it would be more effective if I weren’t so sarcastic in my delivery 😉

  5. pavanneh
    July 27, 2014

    She sounds like she is stress eating. The sugar gives her a “high” and the eating is soothing. You may want to find out if there is something bothering her. But, then it could be she just really loves sugar and needs to jump on the trampoline. 😀

    • Kevil
      July 28, 2014

      My girls have crazy sugar cravings – I even stock things that combat that, but alas, they are like their mother. We just suck it up and pay the price: walk 3 miles to go to the $1 store for a bag of candy, do an extra job for a pack of gum, run 2 miles on the treadmill to have an extra beer…

      • pavanneh
        July 28, 2014

        Well that is a good way to go. You are teaching them that if they want something they have to work for it and if they do eat something high in calories, they had better exercise to take it off.

  6. dadandbub
    August 8, 2014

    Sounds like you’ve got it all under control… Crazy teenagers… There is a fair amount of academic research in the psych field now being conducted on this topic and there are a few scales available online to use for free if you want to perform your own formal ‘assessment’ of the situation :o) Most are for adults but I seem to remember from a recent paper I was reading there is one now that has been validated for use with teens… Have fun

    • Kevil
      August 8, 2014

      I don’t need any proof that I’m the issue 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2014 by in Well, aren't you Smart!, You're SUCH a Good Mom and tagged , , , , , .
TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

