Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

Donut points!

donut begging

 

Stop asking me to take you to get donuts for breakfast when you don’t do anything without being told.  Why should I have to ask you to pick up your shoes when you trip over them twice in the course of 10 minutes?  Or put something up that the “not me” bandit left out.

 

 

One week I decided to have a competition.  I will keep track of all the chores they do (without being told) and the person with the most points gets donuts.  What about the other two children, you ask?  Nothing, nada, zip, zilch!  Except the pain of watching the winner make a sugary mess on the floor and sweet aroma of chocolate icing when they breathe on you while singing in their glory!

eating a donut

Loop hole alert!  Thank goodness I caught it in time!  You must have at least 3 points to be eligible.  But I did not anticipate the next speed bump…

…they lost interest in donuts…How is this possible?!?!  I’m pretty sure that goes against all things child – they are going to lose membership to the kid club if this gets out.  They beg on a consistent basis for me to take them to get donuts, how can they be so lazy as to give up so early?!?!  What a colossal failure in endurance, I’m so disappointed in them.

But I don’t hear begging anymore.  All I have to do is refer to the donut point list, “Oh, I’m so sorry, you haven’t met the minimum requirements this week.”

donuts

 

**New Development**

We live about 2 miles from our local donut store and my kids have a lot of disposable income (in the form of change that I think they are stealing out of my “money bucket” and re-gifting to me, but that an entirely different problem).  This summer I got so tired of hearing about their circular diabetes delicacies that I decided they were more than welcome to ride their bikes up to the donut shop!  And they do!  A lot!

10 comments on “Donut points!

  1. pavanneh
    April 25, 2014

    it is so frustrating. It used to be so easy to set a point limit for something they wanted and they would work for it. Now they lose interest in whatever it was they wanted because they have to work for it. What the heck? I can hear the “Generational Parent Voice” coming from my mouth. “Kids these days? I don’t know what happened, but things were sure different when I was a kid.”

    • Kevil
      April 25, 2014

      I hear ya! Mine complain about doing jobs and I remind them that there are 3 of them – try doing ALL of the jobs…by yourself as an only child. Where’s my parenting handbook? I need to smack someone with it 😉

  2. swatkins98
    April 25, 2014

    My daughter feels the need to negotiate with me when I ask her to clean her play room or her room. What?! Sometimes I blame it on the fact that she’s an only child & she’s spoiled, but then I realize that doesn’t mean she has to be a slob or lazy or spoiled. I know I had in creating this monster but it’s never too late to mold that monster! Now if only I could get her to clean for donuts… I’d have so much more money!!

    • Kevil
      April 25, 2014

      heehee, I’ve tried that, there’s no money in it! I’ve even traded out laborers (children) with my neighbor. My girls love doing chores at her house, but her boys are too young – which means too short to get my dusting done… My next alternative is to start a sweat shop in my garage and force them into servitude. (But it’s almost summer in Texas and they’ll just complain about the heat…oh, right, and the work.)

      • swatkins98
        April 25, 2014

        Ha! If it’s not one thing, it’s another! Especially if it gets kids out of helping around the house!

        >

  3. Karuna
    April 30, 2014

    I enjoyed the post…..and all the humor……. I’m glad my kids are grown now! But you are sure bringing back memories!

    • Kevil
      April 30, 2014

      Am I going to make it? I wonder sometimes…ok, I wonder a lot… My husband and I were watching TV last night and this couple had a cute new baby – “awww, remember those days, when they didn’t talk back and didn’t make a tornado of the house”…and then he reminded me that we used to watch TV shows about people that had older children and we used to say – “can’t wait for the day when they are self sufficient and can clean up after themselves”. UGH! Buzz killer 😉

      • Karuna
        April 30, 2014

        Thanks for the laugh!!!!!!! I can relate……..

  4. elkelorraine
    July 25, 2014

    When we become adults we quickly find out that everything cost money. Food, clothes a.nd entertainment. Even time cost money. I’ve taught my 16 year old the same thing, but to back it up all his chores have not only a mandate but a value. He does not get an allowance. If he wants cash from me then chores and favors are requested and completed. There’s a constant exchange of cash in the home. You want snacks? Did you clean your room? You want me to drive you somewhere? Did the dishes get done? You need new sneakers? Did my lawn get mowed? He does the chore? I hand him the cash that will allow him to save to get the things he requests. Worked for him. Let’s see what happens with the next two kids.

    • Kevil
      July 26, 2014

      We’ve done allowance both ways – but we’re still modifying that wheel…as we speak. I will say that I have conquered the lunch money monster! I put enough money in their account for 2 lunches and 1 breakfast a week. If they don’t ask me for any money – at the end of the year I put $150 in their savings account. (It works for 2/3 of my kids, but that’s better than half – so I’ll take it!)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 25, 2014 by in You're SUCH a Good Mom and tagged , , , .
TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

