Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

reinventing the wheel

lalalalaMy husband has this incredible knack of tuning things out, which is quite an advantage when you have two girls that never stop talking.  It is constant, non-stop, inconsequential, worse than white noise, my ears are bleeding from exhaustion, chatter.

He says my problem is that I egg it on.  What?!  I do not, I just want them to make sense, and be informed, and I think it’s my duty to call them out on their BS.  (ok, I see where he’s going with this)

My coping strategy (this week) is “uh huh” and the volume knob.

Instead of pointing out the ridiculous unlikelihood of her best friend’s brother’s other mother’s half-son having 5 guinea pigs that don’t make a mess and explaining to me in detail how he cleans the cage (because I’m pretty sure she’s never met this fictitious boy or even knows his name), and the fact that she already has 2 dogs that I have to threaten her to pick up after and feed.  Wait, when was the last time you cleaned your room…and you’re going to add animals to said room?!

Or wasting my breath explaining to my girls that they don’t need makeup (at 10 and 11 years old respectively) and getting my old dregs from the trashcan can’t possibly be good for them…when was the last time you washed behind your ears and brushed your teeth without being told?!

Or to point out the percentage she is spewing out can’t possibly be accurate because if the pile of stink in her closet represented 20% of her laundry where exactly is the mountain of 80% clean stuff (because you are on day 4 of wearing the same outfit and I don’t recall you doing any laundry all summer?!)

Or lecturing her about not being able to find her shin guards and swim suit after she goes on and on on for – no lie – 8 whole minutes about Abby (Who’s Abby?  “Mom…you know, this girl on you-tube”) and how Abby knows everything there is to know about dancing and that when I sign her up for dance (of which I never agreed to) that she will need to get special shoes and outfits…and what time today are we going to the store to get said outfits…

 

This week I am practicing saying, "uh huh", and nodding, and turning up the radio.

This week I am practicing saying, “uh huh”, and nodding, and turning up the radio.

 

It works almost as well as pouring another drink (of which I will do as soon as I get home!)

 

To read Kevil’s other failed attempts at reinventing the parenting wheel, check out how she gets her kids to clean, foils the “Not Me” bandit,  maintains standards, and handles discipline.

 

 

4 comments on “reinventing the wheel

  1. Nida S.
    July 18, 2014

    Oh yes! Never underestimate the power of the Uh-huhs!

    • Kevil
      July 18, 2014

      That’s what my husband says! I just have such a hard time biting my tongue 😉 But when used in conjunction with the radio it’s easier!

  2. amforte66
    July 18, 2014

    Good luck. And just think, they’re not even teenagers yet! 🙂

    • Kevil
      July 19, 2014

      ugh! I know…don’t remind me 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2014 by in You're SUCH a Good Mom and tagged , , , , , , , .
TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

