Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

Homemade Smoemade

great-plains-homesteader

I would love to make and grow everything my family consumes, but let’s face it – I’m a mother (and not the prairie homesteading kind).  I’m lucky I get my hair and teeth brushed everyday.  I love to try new things, but I’m not traveling to the West Indies to trade my first-born for a rare spice I can’t even pronounce.  So I take it slow and make it simple, keep the good and berate myself for getting suckered into something that sucks hours off my life and makes me listless from expending so much wasted energy.

 

Here’s my top 10.

 

1)  Laundry Soap

It was the first thing I ever made from Pinterest.  It’s easy, cheap, and it works!  But it’s not for sensitive skin.

* Tea tree or lemon essential oil in the rinse cycle (5-10 drops) will kill extra smelly cooties and lavender makes everything smell like your granny’s linen closet.

 

2)  Using a mason jar instead of the blender pitcher is a life saver when making anything and everything.  It’s like one pot cooking:  mix, eat, save.  The only time I use the pitcher is for volume (margaritas and pasta sauce – you know, necessities).

 

3)  AVO mayo – aka: eat it all”…in the pantry…secretly…with a spoon and pretend like you spilled it and make another batch” sauce.

 

4)  Tomato Basil Soup (The easy way.  10 minutes tastes like 2 hours)  The link is to the original recipe, but I have drastically simplified it (see my notes on the pin).

 

5)  Homemade Gatorade – ALL NATURAL  ~nuff said

 

6)  $ gift bracelet  – the easiest, fastest, cutest thing to make (in the car…on the way to said party…when you forgot there was even a party…what’s this kids’ name again?)  I’m also a big fan of putting money or a gift card in a balloon with crinkle ribbon and having the kids write Happy Birthday on it.

 

7)  Christmas gifts that your kids can make their friends, family, and teachers…on their own…with VERY little time, energy, or money.  Glitter balls and angels (that’s quite a combo).

 

8)  Swiffer covers – I made about 10 of them.  They are quick, cheap, easy, and work better than the sheets.

 

9)  Better than popcorn balls (and easier and cheaper and not as messy…ok, maybe messy).  I don’t remember when or where I got the recipe but it’s a no brainer:  melt a stick of butter and a bag of marshmallows in the microwave.  Pop 2-3 bags of microwave popcorn.  Combine!  (told ya!)

 

10)  Shaving Lotion – I could not live without this.  Besides homemade Neosporin (that we use on everything like the dad from My Big Fat Greek Wedding uses Windex) this shaving stuff is the closest thing to a miracle.  It started out as a varicose vein essential oil blend and when my husband ran out of shaving cream he grabbed the first thing on the counter (brave man).  4 oz scent free lotion, 30 drops of cypress EO, 20 drops of lavender, and 10 drops each of a citrus, frankincense, geranium, and helichrysum essential oils.

 

I hope this makes your life easier, yummier, and less messy!  I’m going to go brush my hair and teeth now.

 

Family Circus mom_thumb[7]

 

 

7 comments on “Homemade Smoemade

  1. pavanneh
    July 8, 2014

    Love the ideas. Will have to save this one for use later. Thanks!

    • Kevil
      July 8, 2014

      Yea! Let me know your favorite tricks or tips.

  2. Nida S.
    July 8, 2014

    wow great stuff! I love the balloon and gift card idea:)

    • Kevil
      July 8, 2014

      I hate birthday party shopping, this way they can get whatever they want and I can still be a last minute slacker. Parents especially love it when you put confetti in the balloon and it bursts everywhere in their living room! 😉

      • Nida S.
        July 9, 2014

        haha confetti! Noted!

  3. Tempest Rose
    July 9, 2014

    Growing up, I remember my mom making everything. Even my clothes. I loved how unique everything was. I did all the projects you mentioned (for the most part). Sadly, now I do a lot of DIY stuff but it’s usually bigger, artsy projects. When it comes to trying to, say, make my own perfume (I only use this example because I did it once as a kid and it can pretty much sum up how I go about making anything now), I just find whatever I can, throw it into a bottle, and shake. Sometimes it turns out good, sometimes.. not so much.

    So be proud of yourself; you may not be the ultimate pinterest mom, but you’re a hell of a lot closer than me! =]

    • Kevil
      July 9, 2014

      I used to be more of the “throw it in a bottle type” years ago (with more failures than successes), and as I got older the projects got more expensive. So I appreciate having a resource like the internet and pinterest, but that doesn’t help the fact that I never follow directions – so there always ends up being modifications and/or screw-ups. There’s a lot of weeding to be done to find things that relate to you and your family. I mean, let’s face it, I’m super impressed you furnished your home with pallets but I have furniture and I definitely don’t need cupcakes shaped like every Disney character to enjoy me some sweets 😉 I hope my kids remember me making (trying to make) stuff when they grow up. And let me know what you mix up next!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2014 by in That's SO Creative, This is SO Delicious and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

