Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

The voices in my head.

Since starting this blog I have discovered that I like writing…who knew?!  So I joined another Blogging U challenge called Writing 101.  [resist the urge…click later…you’ll get distracted…]

The first assignment was to free write for 20 minutes.  I am going to keep track of the crazy thoughts that pass through my head here, so my compadres can experience my process – and then do the opposite.

20 minutes seems like a long time [which is why I told you not to get side-tracked above -you’ll get off on a 2 hour tangent that includs facebook, pinterest, and texting 2 people] but I know it will go by in a flash – so now I’m a little nervous.  [but am I more nervous about actually writing for 20 minutes, having something to write about, or letting people glimpse at my thought process?  yep, the later – defininely!]

I need to actually complete a post so I’ll start at the beginning:  the idea.  I get LOTS of them, all day long [thank goodness this blog is about being me…it would suck to run out of ideas…] but I can never remember them so I jot down [who am I kidding – I tell siri] my idea on some note taking app I have so I can come back to it later.

Then the drafting.  I usually just spew…kind of like this…I write as much as I can, get side tracked, write more, come back the next day [think, “what the hell was I writing about”], write some more, get side tracked some more, and get lost in that loop until I finally edit, fluff, and publish.

The editing is the hardest part.  I don’t want to let down my blogging buddy.  1)  She’s an English teacher and I create enough embarassing situations without grammar being one of them and 2) Because I really don’t know what I’m doing in that department.  [but if you ever need help with high school math, I’m your girl…unless it’s PreCal – then you’re screwed…I mean I’m washing my hair…everyday…all semester…] [good thing we can always come back and edit whenever…I’ve found so many mistakes in previous posts…]

The fluffing part is where I add pictures, links, and make it purty.  This takes me the longest.  I probably edit/save/view a minimum of [don’t look now, you can look later, you’ll get side tracked, stay focused, any one can do any thing for 20 minutes…can you?  I mean what is something that you can’t do for 20 minutes?  And can you NOT do it or do you just not WANT to do it…ugh!  I’m getting side tracked again. (note to self: totally go back and look this up!  😉 )]

…I forgot my train of thought so I’m going to go re-read and get my act together…[insert elevator music here]

so I’m already embarrassed about my spelling [hey!  I got it write right that time!  There’s no mad, red, squiggly line! and I didn’t slow down enough to think out definitely the first time. (I mentally think de-finite-ly because I got the finite thing down – thank you math *high five self* just like I still think skiz-ors, wed-nes-day, and feb-RU-ary)…so embarassing…again…]

I’m already trying to figure out what pictures I’m going to pick, if the copyright police are going to shut me down because I pick the wrong images, and how many times I can link back to other posts [because I’d read me – you should too!] [pic ideas:  clock moving, grammar police, finished the race, train wreck]

My 20 minutes are up!

I really went and looked up the stats on the editing:  the least was for the coupon book follow up, but probably because it was a follow up [duh!], the next least [does that even make sense? hey!  stop it, it’s a draft…] the next least was back when I was a kid.  The most revisions (21) I did on a Dear K-Evil post [I was a little nervous on how to present it without offending…I wonder if anyone was offended]  Oh and I didn’t find anything you couldn’t do for 20 minutes (except hold your breath) but I found a list of 20 things you could do…[isn’t that an oxymoron or some other fancy English class word?  If the only thing you can’t do is hold your breath wouldn’t there be ∞-1 things you could do? – never mind]

*publish*

14 comments on “The voices in my head.

  1. mommyx4boys
    June 4, 2014

    Haha I just published something called simple person you should check it out if you get a chance.

  2. Meredith
    June 4, 2014

    Interesting flow.

  3. MischiefMaker
    June 4, 2014

    I think it has to be a common thing for us Math people. We start on one thing and can be so distracted and end up on SO many different tangents…

    yeah I totally made that pun and I’m not deleting it. Yep that kind of day.

    • mommyx4boys
      June 4, 2014

      No it cant be just a math person thing, cause I suck at math and im the same way. Lol

      • Kevil
        June 4, 2014

        oh good! It’s just a brain wiring thing!

    • Kevil
      June 4, 2014

      heehee, you get bonus points! Don’t shift the attention away from the function of the blog, and you shouldn’t limit your end behavior…sorry, your tangent rubbed off onto me! And how have I not been following a fellow math-y?!?! So sorry! That’s fixed now!

      • MischiefMaker
        June 4, 2014

        Its possible that you haven’t followed me yet, because I am currently more on the toddler/children/ Mommy aspect of things and I haven’t really gone off on the Math curve yet. But its coming. I can feel it brewing…
        Oh yeah, I’m making a Math page soon… If I can figure out how to make a new page…

      • Kevil
        June 4, 2014

        😉 Yea!

  4. amforte66
    June 5, 2014

    Fluffing…I love this! I’m glad we now have a word for this stage of blogging. This takes me a while too, but it’s pretty important. I mean, you have to have cool pictures or you might lose the non readers. Great post…it made me happy. 🙂

    • Kevil
      June 5, 2014

      I wish the draft format/sizing matched the published version. I spend a ton of time getting the spacing and placement because the two windows look nothing alike. (and thanks for the compliment)

      • amforte66
        June 5, 2014

        I KNOW! I hit the preview button tons of time trying to go back and forth lining everything up.

  5. Aussa Lorens
    June 5, 2014

    My blogging process is frighteningly similar to yours. Like… spot on.

  6. anntogether.com
    June 7, 2014

    I enjoyed your 20 minutes of turning the brain inside out – that’s the only way to get everything to fall through your arm and land at the fingers! I think it’s quite grand you can do math – I’m embarrassed to say I’m quite terrible at it – I stuck paint brushes in my ears during math instruction – that’s why I never sub as a math teacher – I don’t think I could even fake it well 🙂
    Wonderful and fun read, thank you 🙂
    AnnMarie 🙂

  7. andreazjensen
    June 8, 2014

    Thanks for warning me to refrain from following the link to the challenge! I know I would never have gotten back to your post before having to jump away from the keyboard!
    Come to the dark side, Kevil. The Writing Force is strong in you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2014 by in Blog That, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

