Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

My name is a verb.

The Daily Prompt posed an interesting question, but it’s the wrong part of speech.

 

dictionary

 

 

Kevil \kev’ ul\ or Keviling  v: [Texan]  The act of torturing your children by implementing ridiculously high standards set forth by someone else (Kevil) in the form of jobs, chores, and the such.

synonyms:  hell, sweat shop

antonyms: dirty, slacker

 

 

 

 

I got a text from a friend of mine:

Okay I have to say I love that my kids use your name as a verb!!!  ER (her daughter) wants to watch some show.  I said have you Keviled ?

[her daughter replied] Mom do I have to Kevil now?

Yes!  10 minutes and I am checking, you know what happens then…

I hate Keviling, but love Kevil!

 

I tell my friends every time I reinvent the wheel hoping for some insight into whether or not I’m doing it right.  No, that’s not it – I share my parenting antics as pure entertainment during my few precious moments of adult time and to gauge how close to the CPS line I’ve come.  Then I remind them that if they tell on me I will include their name as guardian to my children in my will.

voodoo

A friend of mine, that has no children of her own but a sister with young ones, would share my parenting techniques with her sibling on a regular basis.  I’m not saying my ideas are the best, I’m not even saying a lot of them good, but I’m pretty sure said sister had a voodoo doll with my name on it and made several trips to the store for more pins every time she “got told how Kevil was doing things”.

 

Being a part of our family is also the threat that other parents use to keep their own children in line.    “You should be glad you don’t live at Ms. Michelle’s house!  Our standards are here [relatively high in terms of using hand gestures in a conversation], but hers are HERE!” [reaching above the head and tiptoes were required for this animation!]

Hey – I have high standards…that are constantly not being met, but at least I have them!  😉

high standardsand I don’t even wear heals

8 comments on “My name is a verb.

  1. Chris (@lyteforce)
    April 24, 2014

    While I’m jealous that “Chris” as a verb hasn’t kicked in – though it would probably be equivalent to being Britta’d a la “Community” – your definition had me rolling in stitches. 😀

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Name for Yourself – Long live Angloswisslogical | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. FittyUpdike
    May 31, 2014

    LOL! I’m totally using your name in everyday conversation from now on!

    • Kevil
      May 31, 2014

      haha! As long as it’s something really horrible when it’s happening and then results in some prize 😉

  4. FittyUpdike
    May 31, 2014

    And speaking of standards…. you guys are in Texas right? I think your state is still one of the only smart ones that didn’t adopt this common core curriculum.. I could be wrong.. but if so, I may be moving to your state.

    • Kevil
      May 31, 2014

      We haven’t…yet…but we have our own issues with the TAKS and now STAAR. We also have several districts recovering from the C-Scope debacle. I’m ready to hit the lottery and start my own school 😉

      • FittyUpdike
        June 9, 2014

        We will enroll! Just let me know when! Till then, homeschool!

  5. Pingback: reinventing the wheel | Pretend to be Nice

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2014 by in You're SUCH a Good Mom and tagged , , , , , , , .
TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

