Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

Mary Poppins lied!

mp sugar

 

A spoonful of sugar did not help make my pill go down any easier.  I still taste the bitterness on the back of my tongue, feel that residual coating stuck to the inside of my throat, the faint sound of my mother laughing and referring to paybacks.

 

I’m usually very confident – in all aspects of my life but I really brought out the matching plates and streamers for my parenting/spousing pity party this weekend.  I don’t know what’s wrong with me.  Am I taking everything personal because I’m guilty?  Am I getting defensive because the “do as I say, not as I do” is the lamest parent excuse – EVER?

I’m strict, and I expect a lot from my kids, but according to my husband lately, I’m just as much of a slacker as I accuse them of being (and apparently I don’t know everything – I know, right – GASP!  SHOCK!  HORROR!)  I’m still not sure I believe that one, but that’s what he says.

Task Completion:  If you have kids you understand how easy it to start 52 jobs and not really finish any of them, but I can’t understand why my middle daughter has a melt down and whines that I “tell her too much to do and [she] can’t remember it all or keep up…it’s too much!” as she’s pulling out her hair and stomping down the hall.  My youngest’s go-to is “well, sorrrrrryyyyy”.

Application:  I can figure out how to do just about anything, but it’s usually not the best way.  I got the shelves up (but they can’t take the weight because I wasn’t patient enough to find load bearing studs).  I fixed the Grand Canyon sized gaps in the back door (but there was too much pressure on the lock and it stripped out).   Is it any wonder that my girls think that glue really glues stuff back together (that’s such a crock, by the way – the only thing white glue is good for is paper…sometimes not even then).

Attention to detail:  I can leave things out on the counter, because I (usually) clean up after myself…and everyone else…  Is that really equivalent to not making your bed “because you’re just going to sleep in it later”, or “why do we really have to rake, isn’t it serving as mulch if we leave it?”

must be a sign

 

Maybe it’s a sign.  To slow down and smell the roses (not search for that odor in their closet), to walk a little slower (instead of running nowhere on the treadmill trying to get away from them), to hug them (instead of secretly wanting to strangle them), and to remind myself that they’re not perfect (and neither am I).

 

So the next time my husband tries to get me to acknowledge my short comings in my children’s actions I’m going to remind myself,

It’s ok if they’re mini-me’s, because when they grow up to rule the world I will bask in their glory!

bask

Or pour another drink and mentally high five myself for not killing anyone.

9 comments on “Mary Poppins lied!

  1. Maria Brinkley
    June 4, 2014

    Well you can bask in your own glory now! i have nominated you for the very inspiring blogger award and you can find all the details here http://mariabrinkley.com/ congratulations 🙂 Thanks for the fun and for giving me a shoutout on your blog.

  2. FittyUpdike
    June 9, 2014

    hahaha, love this post! I always used that rule that since I’m the one cleaning up after everyone, I can leave stuff out. And white glue… my daughter has also discovered the fun of letting it dry on your fingers to just peel it off. Only thing it’s good for.

  3. MeglyMc
    June 15, 2014

    A suggestion…just combine your projects and the inevitable results, and change your project to “Making Gallons of Limoncello”. That’s how I’m spending MY summer.

    • Kevil
      June 15, 2014

      haha! That’s brilliant – if I fail I can get drunk and if I’m successful I can get really drunk! I like those odds 😉

      • MeglyMc
        June 15, 2014

        Literally…a gallon of grain alcohol steeping with lemon peels under my sink as we speak. Best…Idea…EVER!

  4. Kevil
    June 15, 2014

    You definitely need to keep me posted on this! Or I just need to move closer.

  5. anntogether.com
    July 2, 2014

    “…Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,
    So just look at them and sigh and know they love you…” How often I run this Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young tune through my head.
    I know our brilliant children drop their socks on the kitchen floor and actually leave them there. Then we moms wait for the maid to come pick those socks up and place them into the laundry basket where the next maid awaits 😉
    Terrific post – I feel your pain and keep the merlot close 😉
    AnnMarie 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2014 by in You're SUCH a Good Mom and tagged , , , , , , , .
TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

