Pretend to be Nice

Teacher-Moms, on the edge…

Out of your element.

Writing in general is out of my element, but since I’m a math person and I’m already flexing my English muscle by starting a blog, I’ll support my science peeps.

Several of my students are taking Chemistry and are asking for a lot of help lately.  I don’t want to constantly say, “you should watch the video again and take better notes” (although, that’s exactly what they should do) so I’ve been studying up so I can guide them in the right direction.

So what are you working on?

Moles

Psha!  I got this…nature channel here I come!

mole

Not those moles?   Ugh – here then.

2 moles per liter

 

That’s about the extent of my knowledge other than I know it involves math conversions (which is totally up my alley).

 

 

 

The short version:  moles are a unit of measurement when you’re talking about an amount of a substance.  The number of atoms in a mole is known as Avogadro’s Number (which I’m a big fan of because it reminds me of avocados and it’s exponential).

avogadros number

And teachers always use big fancy vocabulary to scare and confuse kids…psst!  stoichiometry is code for the math conversions you do when calculating molarity.  (See, it’s not scary.)

You should put it on your calendars now – nerdy people celebrate Mole Day (it’s on October 23 at 6:02).

My favorite part of every lesson:

When are we ever going to use this?

You’re not, you have to do it because teachers are mean and we don’t like you people.

Just kidding!  You should, at the very least, appreciate the how and why behind determining concentrations and dilutions.  People use it every day – from mixing cool-aid to spraying weeds in your yard.  The sad part is, people in general, are too lazy or didn’t pay attention in high school enough to do the conversions themselves so companies put very detailed mixing recipes on the labels, and the general population usually manages to screw that up too.  It’s just like automobile companies developing computers in cars that calculate your mileage – it’s a simple division problem people!  But that’s a whole nother rant.

You can get technical vocabulary and see problems worked out in a video here.

Here’s the cheater’s version (a calculator).

 

*A special thanks to my science partner-in-crime – Elizabeth Triplett.  We used to teach together and she made sure I didn’t screw anything up in this post.

 

Visit us on facebook.

 

 

14 comments on “Out of your element.

  1. Opinionated Man
    May 21, 2014

    Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    Chemistry was not my friend in school. I enjoyed the post and thanks for sending me the challenge entry. -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please comment on their post.

    • Kevil
      May 21, 2014

      I guess I didn’t mind the class…I really don’t remember much other than the final exam – which was AWESOME! My teacher gave us each a different test tube and week to figure out what was in it. +10 for each correct element/solute/[insert more fancy vocab here] and -10 for each one that was incorrect. I made a 90!

  2. kbeezyisviral
    May 21, 2014

    Very interesting post. I like the challenge that OM presented to his readers. I would greatly appreciate it if you would check out my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/kbeezyisviral

  3. EAT ALL FRESH
    May 21, 2014

    I like chemistry but forgotten it mostly. My favorite part was chemical equations and balancing them. After seeing what mole was I remembered studying about it in school but don’t know how I can use it in my daily life. Its because was never thought in school how to use it in daily life..lol.. Now reading this I will read about mole and how I can use the formula ..

  4. Kevil
    May 21, 2014

    It hurts my heart everyday when I hear people say they don’t remember or even care about a subject because their teachers didn’t make it relevant. I promise – I lead AND follow with that information EVERY lesson!

  5. swo8
    May 22, 2014

    I like it – Mole Day 2014 is a huge success.
    Leslie

    • Kevil
      May 22, 2014

      My teaching partner and I would have big competitions and make the kids pick which was better – Mole Day or Pi Day (I usually won, because who wants to eat moles 😛 )

      • swo8
        May 22, 2014

        Pies would be my favourite too.
        Leslie

  6. whywerescrewed
    May 22, 2014

    You forgot to include a photo of mole-asses. I mean the food, of course, not mole asses.

    • Kevil
      May 22, 2014

      pahahaha! I wonder if I can find a picture of mole asses…brb 😉

      • whywerescrewed
        May 22, 2014

        on The Google, one can find anything….!

  7. K. Renae P.
    May 28, 2014

    How did I miss this post? I love this. Basic chemistry is relevant in our everyday lives. And it isn’t hard or scary really.

    • Kevil
      May 28, 2014

      I get a little nervous with chemistry, but my teaching partner gets nervous with math so we’re a good balance!
      (shock and horror that you missed that one 😉 but it’s ok – I know my mom missed the last Dear K-Evil or she would have called me by now! haha!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2014 by in Blog That, Well, aren't you Smart! and tagged , , , , , .
TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TeacherPop

| A blog for new teachers, hosted by Teach For America.

DFW Writers Workshop

Writers helping writers since 1977

The Social Norma

"I don't cut the ribbon at the opening of markets. I don't stand next to the mayor. Hit your baseball into my yard, and you'll never see it again." - Tom Waits

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. Nothing processed. No waste.

Notes From Dawn

with hope, life is more than just bearable

Properly Ridiculous

Mostly Pleasant [Possibly Offensive] Perceptions

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Chaos Girl & the Real World

{A Slightly Disjointed Life}

5powerdotorg.wordpress.com/

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Raising teenagers...family...faith...

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

Sass & Balderdash

Always tongue in cheek, often egg on face.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

coolcookstyle

Find it, cook it, make it your own.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

